Keep in touch with OAHI:

oahi youtube channel

oahi facebook page
Or Use Our Interactive Map

Home Inspector Training Courses

The Ontario Association of Home Inspectors does not provide entry level (vocational) training for new home inspectors.

The OAHI requires entry-level training being to be taken through an accredited Ontario community college, Ontario private career college or an accepted out of province equivalent.  To be accepted by the OAHI, the education provider must demonstrate that successful completion of their program fulfills the core educational requirements of the National Occupational Standards (NOS) for Home and Property Inspectors and includes exposure to an OAHI recognized Standard of Practice (SOP).

Private career colleges are accepted as equivalent to community colleges subject to applicable policy, but students may be required to take final competency exam.  

The home inspection programs offered by the following education providers are currently accepted by the OAHI and are considered to fulfill requirements.

OAHI Approved Community Colleges

Algonquin College, Cambrian College, Centennial College, Conestoga College, Confederation College, Durham College, Fanshawe College, George Brown, Georgian College, Lambton College, Loyalist College, Mohawk College, Niagara College,  Seneca Polytechnic, Sheridan, Fleming College, St. Clair College, and St. Lawrence College.

Other colleges may offer Seneca Polytechnic courses through OntarioLearn.

OAHI Approved Private Career Colleges:

Carson Dunlop

These courses may be available in class or online. Check your community colleges for availability. Some community colleges offer an enhanced home inspection program.

The Ontario Building Code (OBC) courses are available through some colleges during the evenings and through the OAHI on selected weekends. The Defect Recognition & Reporting Course (DRRC) is only available through the OAHI on selected weekends.

Applicants should note that the OAHI Board of Examiners does not accept courses provided by private education provider other than private career colleges who demonstrated equivalency to community college delivery.